Saturday, August 12, 2006

Andhra extends ban on Naxal groups by one year

Andhra extends ban on Naxal groups by one year

Hyderabad, Aug 11: The Andhra Pradesh government today extended the ban on Maoist rebels and six organisations affiliated to them by a year.

"The state has decided to extend the ban on the CPI-Maoist by one year along with six of its front organisations. However, there is no ban on Virasam (revolutionary writers) association," a senior minister said after a meeting of the state cabinet here.

The ban was set to expire on August 17, and will now be in force till August 16, 2007, he said.

The six front organisations of the Maoists are Radical Students Union, Radical Youth League, Singareni Karmika Samakhya, All India Radical Students Federation, Rytu Coolie Sangham and Viplava Karmika Samakhya, he said.

After peace talks between Naxals and the state government failed, combing operations were intensified and the Maoists suffered a majorset back when CPI-Maoist state secretary Madhav was killed on July 23 in a shootout with police.

Bureau Report

No comments:

Post a Comment

NOTE : The Comments section is provided in the interests of free speech only. It is mostly unmoderated, but comments that are off topic, offensive, slanderous, or otherwise annoying stand a chance of being deleted. The fact that any comment remains on the site IN NO WAY constitutes an endorsement by Naxal revolution, of any view expressed, fact alleged, or link provided in that comment.